A New eMagazine For A New You

The Fathers Of Our Nation

Toussaint Louverture 

(born c. 1743, Bréda, near Cap-Français, Saint-Domingue [Haiti] died April 7, 1803, Fort-de-Joux, France), leader of the Haitian independence movement during the French Revolution (1787–99).

He emancipated the slaves and negotiated for the French colony on Hispaniola, Saint-Domingue (later Haiti), to be governed, briefly, by black former slaves as a French protectorate.

Jean Jacques Dessalines

September 20, 1758 – October 17, 1806) was a leader of the Haitian Revolution and the first ruler of an independent Haiti under the 1805 constitution. He ordered the 1804 Haiti massacre of the remaining white population of native French people. Under Dessalines,

Haiti became the first country in the Americas to permanently abolish slavery. Initially regarded as governor- general, Dessalines was later named Emperor Jacques I of Haiti (1804–1806) by the Generals of the Haitian Revolution Army. He is regarded as one of the founding fathers of Haiti.

Henry Christophe

October 6, 1767 – October 8, 1820) was a key leader in the Haitian Revolution and the only monarch of the Kingdom of Haiti.

Christophe was a former slave of Bambara ethnicity in West Africa, and perhaps of Igbo descent. Beginning with the Slave Uprising of

1791, he rose to power in the ranks of the Haitian revolutionary military. The revolution succeeded in gaining independence from France in 1804.

In 1805 he took part under Jean- Jacques Dessalines in the capturing of Santo Domingo (now Dominican

Republic), against French forces who acquired the colony from Spain in

the Treaty of Basel